Doug Smith

Doug leads snowshoeing events and hikes in the winter and leads hikes, paddling outings, camps, and mountain biking from spring through fall. The Wednesday program carries on all year, rain or shine.   Doug tends to do more challenging outings, but a few outings are of a moderate nature too.  Read the listing carefully for more information.

Oct 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Wed, Oct. 25
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
The Guardsmen Ramble+
Mara Trail, Tranquille

Nov 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Wed, Nov. 1
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Watching Creek Ramble
Watching Creek, Tranquille Creek
Mon, Nov. 6
10:00 am - 2:30 pm
Tappen Bluffs Ramble
Tappen Bluffs, Tappen B.C.
Wed, Nov. 29
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Outer Inks Ramble
Outer Inks Lakes Trails, Kamloops

Dec 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Tue, Dec. 5
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Snowshoeing Workshop
Cunliffe House, Kamloops
Wed, Dec. 6
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
www@dec. 6
Wed, Dec. 13
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
www@dec. 13

Apr 2018

Date/Time Event Category
Sun, Apr. 15
All Day
Trans Canada Trail - Princeton to Coalmont
Coalmont, Coalmont B.C.

Aug 2018

Date/Time Event Category
Mon, Aug. 27 - Fri, Aug. 31
All Day
Cwem Cwem Camp
Trophy Mountain, Wells Gray Park

Additional Info:

  • Doug’s primary website – Kamloops Trails
  • A secondary website – Kamloops Hiking Trails
  • Twitter – https://twitter.com/KamloopsTrails
  • Youtube – Doug Smith
  • Facebook – Doug Smith
  • History with KHC – Doug was a founding member of KHC and the president of the club for the first two years.   Doug created the website from scratch and was webmaster for 3 years.   In years 3 and 4, Doug served as a Director on the Board as Past President.   He takes care of FMCBC liaison, insurance, risk management, land status/access, Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, slideshows, liaison to Sports Council, the KHC paddling program, the Standard Operating Manual, and some other items.
  • Doug is the acting president of KHC for 2017.
  • Doug often leads 5-6 outings a month for a yearly average of about 65 events.
  • Dianne has  joined Doug on most events starting in April, 2016.

Some of Doug’s past events are also listed here:

Oct 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Sun, Oct. 15
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
KHC Board of Directors Fall Meeting
Wed, Oct. 11
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
Lac du Bois Ramble
Lac du Bois Trailhead, Kamloops
Sun, Oct. 8
All Day
Zoa Ramble
Zoa Peak, Coquihalla Summit
Wed, Oct. 4
10:00 am - 2:30 pm
Embleton Ramble
Embleton Mountain Trails, Heffley Lake

Sep 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Wed, Sep. 27
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
Ironmask Hills Ramble
Ironmask Hill Trails, Kamloops
Wed, Sep. 20
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
Mt. Vicars Ramble
Mt. Vicars, Scuitto Lake
Wed, Sep. 13
9:00 am - 12:30 pm
Red Plateau Ramble
Red Plateau Trailheads, Lac du Bois Park
Sun, Sep. 10
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Lac le Jeune Ramble
Lac le Jeune, Lac le Jeune
Wed, Sep. 6
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunrise Ramble
Sunrise Mountain, Kamloops
Sun, Sep. 3
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Three Coquihalla Rambles
Falls Lake, Coquihalla Summit B.C.

Jul 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Wed, Jul. 26
9:00 am - 12:30 pm
Stake Lake Ramble
Stake Lake, Stake Lake
Wed, Jul. 19
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Upper Grasslands Ramble - Cancelled
McQueen Lake, McQueen Lake
Mon, Jul. 10
All Day
Tod Mountain
Sun Peaks, Sun Peaks
Wed, Jul. 5
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sun Peaks without the Lift
Sun Peaks, Sun Peaks

Jun 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Wed, Jun. 28
All Day
Lime Summit ⛰
Jesmond Road, Marble Range
Wed, Jun. 21
All Day
Botanie Summit ⛰
Botanie Mountain, Lytton
Sat, Jun. 17
9:30 am - 2:00 pm
Mara Northeast (Canada's 150th)
Pruden Pass, Lac du Bois Park
Wed, Jun. 7
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Cocobonk
Lundbom Lake, Lundbom Lake

May 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Wed, May. 31
All Day
The Ragged Red Ridge Explorer
Dewdrop Trail, Kamloops
Sun, May. 28
All Day
Ross Moore - Bute Lakes Ramble
Ross Moore Lake, Lac le Jeune area
Fri, May. 26
All Day
Black Canyon Explorer
Wed, May. 17
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Wheeler Explorer
Pruden Pass, Lac du Bois Park

Apr 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Sun, Apr. 30
All Day
Trails Alliance Work Parties
Mon, Apr. 17
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Tranquille Ridge Ramble
Tranquille Creek, Tranquille
Fri, Apr. 14
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
Mara Canyon Ramble
Mara Canyon, Kamloops
Wed, Apr. 5
10:00 am - 2:30 pm
Six Mile Hills Ramble
Six Mile Lake, Tobiano area
Sun, Apr. 2
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Wildflowers of the Kamloops Area (Presentation)
Cunliffe House, Kamloops

Mar 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Fri, Mar. 31
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
Spring in the Grasslands
Grasslands Nature Hike, Kamloops
Wed, Mar. 29
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Spinetime - to be Rescheduled
Mon, Mar. 27
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
Dewdrop Ramble - Over and Under
Dewdrop Range, Kamloops
Sun, Mar. 26
9:00 am - 2:00 pm
2nd Annual Dewdrop Grasslands Cleanup
Dewdrop Range, Kamloops
Wed, Mar. 22
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Batchelor Ridge Ramble
Batchelor Ridge, Kamloops
Sun, Mar. 19
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
2017 AGM and Social
Barnhartvale Hall, Kamloops
Sun, Mar. 19
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Barnes Lake Trails Pre-Meeting Hike
Barnhartvale Hall, Kamloops
Fri, Mar. 17
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
Dewdrop Range Ramble
Frederick Bluffs, kamloops
Wed, Mar. 15
10:00 am
Barren Hills Ramble
Barren Hills Upper Trailhead, kamloops

Feb 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Wed, Feb. 22
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
On the Dirt (with Some Snow, Ice, and Mud)
Barren Hills Lower Trailhead, Kamloops
Fri, Feb. 17
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
www@Hull Explorer
Bush Lake Trails, Lac le Jeune
Fri, Feb. 17
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Dewdrop - Over and Under
Dewdrop Range, Kamloops
Wed, Feb. 15
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Stony Lake Snowshoe
McQueen Lake, McQueen Lake
Wed, Feb. 8
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
www@Hull Hill West
Hull Hill Trails, Hull Hill
Fri, Feb. 3
10:00 am - 1:45 pm
Jag Stomp
Dewdrop Traverse Trailhead, Kamloops
Wed, Feb. 1
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
www@Snopax
Opax East, McQueen Lake B.C.

Jan 2017

Date/Time Event Category
Wed, Jan. 25
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
www@Above the Ridge Lakes
Ridge Lakes Trail, Lac le Jeune
Wed, Jan. 18
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
www@the Grasslands
Grasslands Nature Hike, Kamloops
Sun, Jan. 15
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
www@the Upper Grasslands
Lac du Bois Trailhead, Kamloops
Fri, Jan. 6
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Pussywillow Lane Stomp
Dallas-Barnhartvale Nature Park, Kamloops
Wed, Jan. 4
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
www@Hull Hill - Rescheduled
Hull Hill Trails, Hull Hill

Dec 2016

Date/Time Event Category
Fri, Dec. 30
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Bush Lake Snowshoe
Bush Lake Trails, Lac le Jeune
Wed, Dec. 28
10:00 am - 1:30 pm
www@Upper Goose Hills
Upper Goose Lake Hills, Kamloops